Donate

Prime Time Family Reading Program

By this time next year, scores of young Kentuckians will be reading better and enjoying it more. That's because Kentucky Humanities, in cooperation with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, is bringing an award-winning family literacy program to Kentucky libraries and schools.

Prime Time Family Reading Time is supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and grants from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives and by contributions from donors like you. Additionally, we have funding for programs in Clark and Clay County public schools thanks to a grant from PNC Foundation. We have additional grant applications pending for other areas of the state.

The application deadline for public libraries to apply to host a Prime Time Family Reading Time Program between January 2020 and September 2020 is September 30, 2019. The deadline for public schools to apply to host Prime Time in 2019/2020 is September 30, 2019. Click here for application form.

For more information, please contact Kathleen Pool at Kentucky Humanities at (859) 257-5932. E-mail: kathleen.pool@uky.edu

Louisiana Endowment for Humanities Prime Time web site

Click here to download the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure.

For Spanish version of the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure, click here.

Para la versiónen español delfolleto Prime Time Family Reading Time, haga clicaquí.

Click here to download the 'Finding the Humanities in Children's Literature' PDF

Prime Time, designed for children six to ten and their families, promotes literacy for all Kentuckians.

Discussion leader Kimberly Curry talks with participants at Louisville Free Public Library - Okolona Branch.

Children under the age of six are cared for and do age appropriate activities in a different part of the library while older children read and discuss stories.

 

Prime Time Family Reading Time Schedule

 

         

 

Shearer Elementary School
02/04/19 – 03/11/19
Cathi Harman
244 E. Broadway, Winchester, KY 40391
859-744-4978
cathi.harman@clark.kyschools.us
Scholar: Jacqueline Kohl-Hamilton
Storyteller: Amy Reese

Logan County Public Library
02/07/19 – 03/14/19
Carole Ann Faulkner
PO Box 357, Russellville, KY 42276
270-726-6129
ryann@laruelibrary.org
Scholar: Roxeanne Spencer
Storyteller: Taylor Simpson

Cub Run Elementary School
02/11/19 – 03/18/19
Morgan R. Lindsey
170 E. Gap Hill Rd., Cub Run, KY 42729
270-524-7111 ext. 3002
morgan.lindsey@hart.kyschools.us
Scholar: Susan Rowe
Storyteller: Sherri Buckles

Allen County Public Library
2/21/19 – 3/28/19
Shelia Stovall
106 W. Public Sq., Scottsville, KY 42164
270-237-3861
sstovall@allencountylibrary.com
Scholar: Jonathan Jeffrey
Storyteller: Joan Brown

Waco Elementary School
04/08/19 - 05/20/19
Chasidy Callihan/Chris Workman
359 Waco Loop Rd., Waco, KY 40385
859-387-3642
chasidy.callihan@madison.kyschools.us
Scholar: Karla Willis
Storyteller: Lauri Eiselt

Simpson Elementary School
02/28/19 – 04/11/19
Sam Northern
721 Witt Rd., Franklin, KY 42134
270-847-7142
Samuel.northern@simpson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Jessica Folk
Storyteller: Mickey Lewis

Picadome Elementary School
03/04/19 – 04/15/19
Jennifer Hutchison/Walton Robinson
1642 Harrodsburg Rd., Lexington, KY 40504
859-381-3570
Walton.robinson@fayette.kyschools.us
jennifer.hutchison@fayette.kyschools.us
Scholar: Chris Begley
Storyteller: Angelique Bell

Tates Creek Elementary School
03/04/19 – 04/15/19
Mallorie Burton
1113 Centre Pkwy., Lexington, KY 40517
859-536-1220
mallorie.burton@fayette.kyschools.us
Scholar: Debra Faulk
Storyteller: Amy Olson

Lincoln Elementary School
03/05/19 – 04/16/19
Cami Young
701 5th Ave., Dayton, KY 41074
859-292-7492
cami.young@dayton.kyschools.us
Scholar: Jonathan Cullick
Storyteller: Donna Ammerman

Justice Elementary School
03/05/19 – 04/16/19
Leslie Hammer
350 Mt. Sterling Rd., Winchester, KY 40391
859-745-8800
leslie.hammer@clark.kyschools.us
Scholar: Jacqueline Kohl-Hamilton
Storyteller: Amy Reece

Walton-Verona Elementary School
03/05/19 – 04/09/19
Jackie Sheaffer/Trisha Ridenour
15066 Porter Rd., Verona, KY 41092
859-485-4432 jackie.sheaffer@wv.kyschools.us
trisha.ridenour@wv.kyschools.us
Scholar: Jacqueline Mylor
Storyteller: Mike Spratt

Smyrna Elementary School
03/07/19 – 04/25/19
Elizabeth Totten
6401 Outer Loop, Louisville, KY 40228
502-485-8329
elizabeth.totten@jefferson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Catherine Rubin
Storyteller: Don Ray Smith

Cane Run Elementary School
03/13/19 – 04/24/19 5:30 – 7:30
Melissa Escobar
3951 Cane Run Rd., Louisville, KY 40211
502-313-4428
kimberly.coslow@jefferson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Mark Condon
Storyteller: Jean Anne Clyde

Booker T. Washington Elementary School
04/08/19 – 05/13/19
Veda Stewart
707 Howard St., Lexington, KY 40508
859-381-3263
veda.stewart@fayette.kyschools.us
Scholar: Linda Levstik
Storyteller: Carolina Fernandez

Daviess County Public Library
04/10/19 – 05/15/19
Ryan Henry
2020 Frederica St., Owensboro, KY 42301
270-684-0211
rhenry@dcplibrary.org
Scholar: Brooks Rexroat
Storyteller: Mary Jo Huff

George Coon Public Library
04/15/19 – 05/20/19
Ashley Jones
114 S. Harrison St., Princeton
PO Box 230, Princeton, KY 42445
270-365-2884
606-789-4355
jcplprograms@gmail.com
Scholar: Alana Scott
Storyteller: Christie Cook

Chancey Elementary School
Jun/Jul
Christy Case
4301 Murphy Ln., Louisville, KY 40241
502-485-8387
christina.case@jefferson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Mark Condon
Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris

LaRue County Public Library
08/08/19 – 09/12/19
Ryann Chelf/Dana Jolly
215 Lincoln Dr., Hodgenville, KY 42748
270-358-3851
info@larue.org
ryann@laruelibrary.org
Scholar: Katrina Eicher
Storyteller: Kathy Milby

Nicholasville Elementary School
08/13/19 – 09/24/19
Myria Ironmonger/Ashley Jenkins
414 W. Maple St., Nicholasville, KY 40356
859-885-5351
myria.ironmonger@jessamine.kyschools.us
Ashley.jenkins@jessamine.kyschools.us
Scholar: Chris Begley
Storyteller: Mary Hamilton

Garrard County Public Library
08/15/19 – 09/19/19
Laura McWilliams
101 Lexington Ave., Lancaster, KY 40444
859-792-3424
director@garrardlibrary.org
Scholar: Chris Begley
Storyteller: Yolantha Pace

Louisville Free Public Library – South Central Regional Branch
08/19/19 – 09/30/19
Karen Evans
7300 Jefferson Blvd., Louisville, KY
502-964-3515
karen.evans@lfpl.org
Scholar:
Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris

Washington County Public Library
08/20/19 – 09/24/19
Nichole Midgett
333 W. Main St., Springfield, KY 40069
859-336-7655
nichole.midgett@wcplky.org
Scholar: Teresa King
Storyteller: Yolantha Pace

Lynn Camp Elementary School
Sept/Oct
Will Olmstead
366 N. Kentucky, Corbin, KY 40701
859-200-6184
william.olmstead@berea.edu
Scholar: Judy Smith
Storyteller: Debbie Felts

Portland Elementary School
10/03/19 – 11/14/19
Ashleigh Kraus
3410 Northwestern Pkwy., Louisville, KY 40212
502-313-3517 or 502-485-8313
ashleigh.kraus@jefferson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Mark Condon
Storyteller: Jean Anne Clyde

Garden Springs Elementary School
10/14/19 – 11/18/19
Kay Snyder
2151 Garden Springs Dr., Lexington, KY 40504
859-576-2521
kay.snyder@fayette.kyschools.us
Scholar: Gwynn Henderson
Storyteller: Carolina Ferandez

Cox’s Creek Elementary School
09/26/19 - 11/14/19
Michelle Simpson
5636 Louisville Rd., Cox’s Creek, KY 40013
502-331-1434
michelle.simpson@nelson.kyschools.us
Scholar: Katrina Eicher
Storyteller: Mary Hamilton

Grayson County Elementary
08/23/19 - 9/17/19
Laura Lindsey
163 Carroll Gibson Blvd., Leitchfield, KY 42754
270-259-5455
lindsey@graysonspl.org
Scholar: Brooks Rexroat
Storyteller: