Donate

All the King's Men Book Discussions

 
 
 
Kentucky Humanities announced Kentucky Reads, a statewide literacy initiative centering on the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel All the King’s Men by Kentucky native Robert Penn Warren. As part of this initiative, Kentucky Humanities is making available 25 book discussion programs to be held throughout Kentucky using All the King’s Men. We have assembled an impressive group of scholars capable of leading a thoughtful and insightful discussion about the themes in the book.
 
The booking fee for your organization is only $50. Kentucky Humanities will supplement the remaining cost of the program. Each organization that books an All the King’s Men book discussion will be provided with 15 copies of the novel to share among your members, publicity materials to promote your discussion, and expenses paid to the discussion leader including an honorarium and travel expenses.
 
Any tax-exempt organization in Kentucky can host this program, including libraries, historical societies, churches, prisons, veterans’ groups, museums, book clubs, etc. These programs will be awarded on a first-come first-served basis and must take place between June 1, 2018 and October 31, 2019.

How It Works

  1. Decide your organization would like to host a book discussion of All the King’s Men.
  2. Decide who will serve as your scholar and lead a discussion about the book and relevant topics
  3. Contact the scholar and set a date and location for your group discussion and discuss any special arrangements.
  4. Book the program using the online booking form at least six weeks in advance and pay the $50 booking fee (can be waived upon request).
  5. Kentucky Humanities will send you an agreement to sign and return.
  6. Kentucky Humanities will also send 10 flyers, 50 postcards, and 15 copies of All the King’s Men to promote your event.
  7. Publicize your book discussion once it has been approved using the supplied materials.
  8. Host your discussion and have participants complete evaluation forms.
  9. Complete the program coordinator's report.
  10. Return evaluation forms to Kentucky Humanities.

Scholars Available

  1. Constance Alexander, Adjunct Faculty at Murray State University, constancealexander@twc.com, (270) 753-9279
  2. Dr. Michael Baranowski, Associate Professor of Political Science at Northern Kentucky University, baranowskim@nku.edu, (859) 572-5521
  3. Dr. Jon Blandford, Associate Professor of English Director of the Honors Program at Bellarmine University, jblandford@bellarmine.edu,(502) 272-7404 (work), (502) 424-1865 (cell)
  4. Dr. Jonathan Cullick, Professor of English at Northern Kentucky University, cullickj@nku.edu, (859) 468-1155
  5. Dr. Melanie Goan, Professor of U.S. History at the University of Kentucky, melanie.goan@uky.edu,(859) 257-3675
  6. Gary L. Gregg, II, Director, McConnell Center, Mitch McConnell Chair in Leadership, University of Louisville, ggregg@louisville.edu, (502) 852-3306
  7. Dr. Phil Harling, Distinguished Service Professor of History at the University of Kentucky, harling@uky.edu, (859) 257-1537.
  8. Dr. Jessica Hindman, Assistant Professor of English at Northern Kentucky University, jessica.hindman@gmail.com,(917) 566-8923
  9. Dr. Sarah Oglesby, Retired English Professor at Madisonville Community College, soglesby@gmail.com,(270) 832-7640
  10. Dr. Conor Picken, Assistant Professor of English and Director of Brown Learning Community at Bellarmine University, cpicken@bellarmine.edu, (615) 943-9940
  11. Dr. Kay Collier McLaughlin, Human Relations Trainer with a Doctorate in Counseling Psychology, kcollierm@me.com, (859) 333-9668
  12. Dr. Richard Taylor, Kenan Visiting Writer at Transylvania University, rtaylor@transy.edu , (502) 223-5775
  13. Dr. Scott Vander Ploeg, English Professor at Madisonville Community College, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu,(270) 821-2250
  14. Dr. Kathryn West, Professor of English and Chair of the English Department at Bellarmine University, kwest@bellarmine.edu, (502) 744-9123

Organizations are not limited to these scholars.