Donate

Kentucky Book Festival Kickoff

 
 
Thank you to LFUCG, Wave Foundation and WLEX for sponsoring this event.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Sunday, November 10, 2019
1-4 p.m.
ArtsPlace

161 North Mill Street, Lexington, KY

Free Admission

PARKING: Paid parking in surrounding parking lots. Street parking is free on Sunday.

Bring the family out for creative activities for kids—meet authors, join story-time, see how books are created, visit animals from Newport Aquarium and much more!

This event will feature creative activities for kids of all ages including Meet & Greets with authors David Arnold, Idris Goodwin, Shawn Pryor, Gwenda Bond, Christopher Rowe, Marvin Bartlett, Amanda Driscoll and Liz Swanson. 

The Newport Aquarium's WAVE on Wheels Outreach Program will be on site with amazing marine life and hands-on learning activities.

Parents and youngsters alike will enjoy arts & crafts, story time, fun book-related experiences and as for middle-school to high schoolers to "teen at heart" whether you're interested in how to write your first book or play, care to get the skinny on beat poetry or want to create a graphic novel from the ground up, there's something for everyone at this Kickoff!

 

 
Mayor Linda Gorton
Mayor Linda Gorton



Mayor Linda Gorton

Mayor Linda Gorton will help us kickoff the 2019 Kentucky Book Festival at ArtsPlace on Sunday, November 10. She will cut the ribbon and get the festivities started for the week.

Jill Szwed
Jill Szwed



Jill Szwed – LEX 18 Weekend Meteorologist

Jill Szwed joined the LEX 18 StormTracker weather team as the weekend meteorologist in May 2016, and she is thrilled to call the bluegrass home!

Family and friends knew from an early age that Jill wanted to be a meteorologist. Her interest in the weather began in her sixth grade science class and her passion grew through experiencing severe flooding, countless snowstorms, and a tornado that hit the downtown area of her hometown Pittsburgh, PA.

Jill graduated with a degree in Meteorology and Communication from Saint Louis University, home of the Billikens.

Jill loves reading and sharing this love with children of all ages. She will join Mayor Linda Gorton for the ribbon cutting and will read stories throughout the kickoff event.

Marvin Bartlett
Marvin Bartlett



Marvin Bartlett, The Boy Who Delivered Joy

A rare bone cancer robbed Jarrett Mynear of a normal childhood when he was two years old, but it didn't steal his spirit. At age 9, he became a pint-sized Santa Claus, delivering thousands of toys to sick children in hospitals. This is the story of his legacy 20 years later. Marvin Bartlett is an Emmy Award-winning journalist who has anchored The Fox 56 Ten O'clock News in Lexington since 1995. He is well known for his weekly feature segment, "Spirit of the Bluegrass."

We invite you to bring a toy to donate to Jarrett's Joy Cart. Jarrett's mom will be at the kickoff to accept toys and thank you. Receive a raffle ticket for each toy you bring.

Liz Swanson
Liz Swanson



Liz Swanson, Wondrous Things

A full-color children's picture book on one side, and an interactive coloring book on the other. Printed on accordion-style pages, the message of the book is simple: we all have gifts to share with the world, and there's room for each of us to express ourselves. Liz Swanson is an artist and Associate Professor of Architecture at the University of Kentucky. Her work explores the relationship between architecture, art, and storytelling. 

Shawn Pryor
Shawn Pryor



Shawn Pryor, Cash & Carrie Book 2: Summer Sleuths!

Cash & Carrie return in all-new adventures! It's all fun and games at Summer Camp Sobol until strange things start happening. Campers go missing, Bigfoot might exist, and does anyone know what's really in the coleslaw? Shawn Pryor is the creator/co-writer of the all-ages graphic novel mystery series Cash & Carrie, writer of Kentucky Kaiju, and writer and co-creator of the 2019 GLYPH Nominated football/drama series Force. He is one of the co-founders of Action Lab Entertainment and serves as their President of Creative Relations. 

David Arnold
David Arnold



David Arnold, The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik

This is Noah Oakman → 16, Bowie believer, historian, swimmer, son, brother, friend. Then Noah → gets hypnotized. Now Noah → sees changes. Everything in Noah’s world has been rewritten. A stunning surrealist portrait, this is a story about all the ways we hurt our friends without knowing it and all the ways they stick around to save us. David Arnold lives in Lexington, Kentucky, with his (lovely) wife and (boisterous) son. He is the New York Times bestselling author of Kids of Appetite, Mosquitoland, & The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik.

Amanda Driscoll
Amanda Driscoll



Amanda Drsicoll, Klondike, Do Not East Those Cupcakes!

Amanda Driscoll lives in Prospect and is a graphic designer and children's book author/illustrator. Books she has written and illustrated include Duncan the Story Dragon, Wally Does Not Want a Haircut, and most recently, Klondike, Do Not Eat Those Cupcakes! in which readers are invited to join a hungry seal as he attempts the impossible task of waiting until his sister's party to eat a delicious birthday cupcake. In her presentation entitled “Don't Give Up!” she shares her journey from dreamer to published author, how she turned an idea into a published picture book, and the ups-and-downs along the way.

Idris Goodwin
Idris Goodwin



Idris Goodwin, Can I Kick it?

Award-winning poet and playwright Idris Goodwin interrogates and remixes our cultural past in order to make sense of our present and potential futures.

Situated squarely in the oral traditions of hip-hop and BreakBeat Poetry, Idris Goodwin’s work bridges the divide between the reader and the poet. Combining the tongue-in-cheek and the irreverent with the melancholy and incisive, Goodwin’s poetry samples and re-purposes pop-culture—from Back to the Future to Prince, Missy Elliot to Dominique Wilkins—in order to reflect and remix the stories we tell ourselves and each other in order to live.

Christopher Rowe
Christopher Rowe



Christopher Rowe & Gwenda Bond, The Supernormal Sleuthing Service, #2: The Sphinx's Secret

Stephen and his friends have three days to undo a sorcerer’s magic before the spell becomes permanent! This inventive mystery-adventure is perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series. Christopher Rowe has been a finalist for many awards, including the Hugo and Nebula. He lives in Lexington with his wife, the writer Gwenda Bond.

Gwenda Bond
Gwenda Bond



Gwenda Bond, Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

A mysterious lab. A sinister scientist. A secret history. If you think you know the truth behind Eleven’s mother, prepare to have your mind turned Upside Down in this thrilling prequel to the hit show Stranger Things. Gwenda Bond is the New York Times bestselling author of many novels. She created Dead Air, a serialized mystery novel and scripted podcast written with Rachel Caine and Carrie Ryan. She and her husband Christopher Rowe also co-write a middle grade series, the Supernormal Sleuthing Service. She co-hosts Cult Faves, a podcast about the weird world of cults and extreme belief.