Donate

Hannah Coulter Book Discussions

 
 
Kentucky Humanities announced the 2020 Kentucky Reads book at the Kentucky Book Fair, to coincide with the theme of the upcoming Smithsonian traveling exhibit, Crossroads: Change in Rural America, coming to seven Kentucky comnunities beginning September 2020. The Kentucky Reads book is Wendell Berry's Hannah Coulter. This book will help us take a look at changes in rural America and what it means to be part of rural communities in the 21st century. Kentucky Humanities will offer 25 book discussions to communities throughout the state. We have assembled an impressive group of scholars who will lead thoughtful and insightful discussions about the themes in the book.
 
The booking fee for your organization is only $50. Kentucky Humanities will supplement the remaining cost of the program. Each host organization will be provided with 15 copies of the novel to share among participating members. Publicity materials to promote your discussion, and expenses paid to the discussion leader (including an honorarium and travel expenses) will be covered by KH.
 
Any nonprofit organization in Kentucky can host this program, including libraries, historical societies, churches, prisons, veterans’ groups, museums, book clubs, etc. These programs will be awarded on a first-come first-serve basis and must take place between March 1, 2020 and April 30, 2021.
 
Social Media hashtags: #KyReads, #Kyhumanities, #NEH

How to book a discussion

  1. Decide your organization would like to host a book discussion of Hannah Coulter.
  2. Select who will serve as your scholar to lead a discussion about the book and relevant topics.
  3. Contact the scholar and set a date, time, and location for your group discussion and discuss any special arrangements.
  4. Book the program using the online booking form at least six weeks in advance beginning January 1, 2020 and pay the $50 booking fee.
  5. Kentucky Humanities will send you an agreement to sign and return.
  6. Kentucky Humanities will also send 10 flyers, 50 postcards, and 15 copies of Hannah Coulter to promote your event.
  7. Publicize your book discussion once it has been approved using the supplied materials.
  8. Host your discussion and have participants complete the provided evaluation forms.
  9. Complete the program coordinator's report.
  10. Return evaluation forms to Kentucky Humanities within 2 weeks of your program taking place..
 

Scholars Available

  1. Constance Alexander, Adjunct Faculty at Murray State University, constancealexander@twc.com, (270) 753-9279
  2. Dr. Diane Calhoun-French, Provost at Jefferson Community & Technical College, diane.calhoun-french@kctcs.edu, (502) 500-2176
  3. Erin Chandler, author, erinchandler22@aol.com, (859) 940-2087
  4. Katrina Eicher, Professor at Elizabethtown Community College, katrina.eicher@kctcs.edu, (270) 706-8536
  5. Dr. Morris Grubbs, Assistant Dean and Director of Graduate School, University of Kentucky, morris.grubbs@uky.edu, (859) 257-9725
  6. Dr. Ann C. Hall, Chair of Department of Humanities, University of Louisville, ann.hall@louisville.edu, (502) 852-7134
  7. Dr. Richard Taylor, Kenan Visiting Writer at Transylvania University, rtaylor@transy.edu , (502) 223-5775
  8. Dr. Scott Vander Ploeg, English Professor at Madisonville Community College, scott.vanderploeg@kctcs.edu,(270) 821-2250

Organizations are not limited to these scholars.