Telling Kentucky's Story

Prime Time Family Reading Program

Prime Time, designed for children six to ten and their families, promotes literacy for all Kentuckians.

Discussion leader Kimberly Curry talks with participants at Louisville Free Public Library - Okolona Branch.

Children under the age of six are cared for and do age appropriate activities in a different part of the library while older children read and discuss stories.

By this time next year, scores of young Kentuckians will be reading better and enjoying it more. That's because Kentucky Humanities, in cooperation with the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, is bringing an award-winning family literacy program to ten Kentucky libraries and schools.

Prime Time Family Reading Time is supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and grants from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives and by contributions from donors like you. Additionally, we have funding for programs in the Henderson County schools thanks to a grant from the Raymond P. Preston Family Foundation. Additionally, we have funding for six programs in ARC distressed provided by The Steele-Reese Foundation and Emmet and Eleanor Reese.

The application deadline to apply for libraries to host a Prime Time Family Reading Time Program during the 2018 calendar year was September 30, 2017. The deadline for schools to apply to host Prime Time in 2018 is January 31, 2018. Click here for application form.

For more information, please contact Kathleen Pool at Kentucky Humanities at (859) 257-5932. E-mail: kathleen.pool@uky.edu

Louisiana Endowment for Humanities Prime Time web site

Click here to download the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure.

For Spanish version of the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure, click here.

Para la versiónen español delfolleto Prime Time Family Reading Time,haga clicaquí.

Click here to download the 'Finding the Humanities in Children's Literature' PDF


 

Prime Time Family Reading Time Schedule

 



Families discover the story together at Prime Time.

Click here to go to photo gallery for more pictures of Prime Time programs.

Indian Trail Elementary School

1/23/18 – 2/27/18

Ashley Campbell

3709 E. Indian Trail, Louisville, KY 40213

502-594-0128

ashley.campbell@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris

 


Engelhard Elementary School

02/15/18 – 3/22/18 6:00pm – 8:00pm

Lindsay M. Kokai

1004 S. 1st St., Louisville, KY 40203

502-485-8246

lindsay.kokai@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Mary Hamilton

 


Lincoln County Public Library

02/15/18 – 3/22/18

Amanda Gearhart

201 Lancaster St., Stanford, KY 40484

606-365-7513

director@lcplinfo.org

Scholar: Chris Begley

Storyteller: Yolantha Pace


Longest Elementary School

02/27/18, 3/6/18, 3/13/18, 3/27/18, 4/10/18, 4/17/18

Brent Hardison

1020 N. Main St., Greenville, KY 42345

270-543-5697

brent.hardison@muhlenberg.kyschools.us

Scholar: Shawn Bruce

Storyteller: Anne Gant


Allen County Public Library

2/22/18 – 3/29/18

Shelia Stovall

106 W. Public Sq., Scottsville, KY 42164

270-237-3861

sstovall@allencountylibrary.com

Scholar: Roxanne Spencer

Storyteller: Joan Brown

 


Maupin Elementary School

02/26/18 – 04/09/18

John Custis

1312 Catalpa St., Louisville, KY 40211

502-313-4500

john.custis@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Jay Stotman

Storyteller: Virginia Johnson


Bonnieville Elementary School

3/1/18 – 4/17/18

Debbie B. Romance

7874 N. Dixie Hwy, Bonnieville, KY 42713

270-524-0592

debbie.romance@hart.kyschools.us

Scholar: Susan Rowe

Storyteller: Sherrie Buckles


Letcher County Public Library/Letcher Elementary School

03/5/18 – 4/9/18

Legina Adams

606-633-3407

letcherbookmobile@gmail.com

Scholar: Sandy Holbrook

Storyteller: Michele Stamper


Shearer Elementary School

03/5/18 – 4/16/18

Mark Rose/Anne Hall/Alison Campbell

244 E. Broadway, Winchester, KY 40391

859-744-4978

mark.rose@clark.kyschools.us

anne.hall@clark.kyschools.us

Alison.campbell@clark.kyschools.us

Scholar: Gwynn Henderson

Storyteller: Carolina Fernandez


Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School

03/06/18 – 04/17/18

Angela Boone

1351 Payne St., Louisville, KY 40206

502-485-8215

angela.boone-pillow@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris


Leatherwood Elementary School

03/12/18 – 04/17/18

Anita Shepherd

7777 Hwy. 699, Leatherwood, KY 41731

606-675-4431

anita.shepherd@perry.kyschools.us

Scholar: Jill Robertson

Storyteller: Nancy Allen


Henderson County Schools PD Center

3/13/18 – 4/24/18

Jo Swanson and Stephanie Smith

1805 Second St., Henderson, KY 42420

270-831-5000

Jo.swanson@henderson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Megan Mortis

Storyteller: Andrew Casey


Jesse D. Lay Elementary School

03/20/18 – 5/3/18

DeLisa Estes

220 N. Allison Ave., Barbourville, KY 40906

606-546-7780

delisa.estes@knox.kyschools.us

Scholar: Melissa Gibson

Storyteller: Garnet Chrisman


Frayser Elementary School

03/13/18 – 04/24/18 skip 4/3/18

Kim Bakewell

1230 Larchmont Ave., Louisville, KY 40215

502-313-4461

kimberly.bakewell@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Bonnie Lash Freeman

Storyteller: Thomas Freese

 

Cane Run Elementary School

03/14/18 – 04/25/18

Melissa Escobar

3951 Cane Run Rd., Louisville, KY 40211

502-313-4428

kimberly.coslow@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Mark Condon

Storyteller: Jean Anne Clyde


Brandenburg Primary School

3/20/18 – 5/1/18

Andrea Pike-Goff

750 Broadway, Brandenburg, KY

270-422-7545

andrea.pikegoff@meade.kyschools.us

Scholar: Gail Ledford

Storyteller: Suzy Harreld


Smyrna Elementary School

03/05/18 - 04/06/18

Tiffany Stith

6401 Outer Loop, Louisville, KY 40228

502-485-8329

tiffany.stith@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Catherine Rubin

Storyteller: Don Ray Smith


Henderson County Public Library

4/5/18 – 5/10/18

Caleb May

101 S. Main St., Henderson, KY 42420

270-827-4226

cmay@hcpl.org

Scholar: Lorie Maltby

Storyteller: Danielle Anguish


Breckinridge Elementary School

05/30/18 – 06/26/18

Sandra Ballew-Barnes

2101 St. Mathilda Dr., Lexington, KY 40502

859-381-3279

sandra.ballew-barnes@fayette.kyschools.us

Scholar: Debra Faulk

Storyteller: Amy Olsen

 


Nelson County Public Library – New Haven Branch

08/7/18 – 9/11/18

Catherine Williams

318 Center St., New Haven, KY 40051

859-549-6735

cwilliams@ncplky.org

Scholar: Katrina Eicher

Storyteller: Kathy Milby

 


George Coon Public Library

08/14/18 – 9/18/18

Ashley Jones

114 S. Harrison St., Princeton

PO Box 230, Princeton, KY 42445

270-365-2884

ajones@gcplibrary.org

Scholar: Stacey Menser

Storyteller: Nicole Adams


Campbell County Public Library – Northern Kentucky Scholar House

08/21/18 – 9/25/18

Carol Freytag

901 E. Sixth St., Newport, KY  41071

Northern KY Scholar House – 402 W. 6th St., Newport

859-572-5035 ext. 35

cfreytag@cc-pl.org

Scholar: Dr. Matt Birkenhauer

Storyteller: Donna Ammerman


Washington County Public Library

08/21/18 – 09/25/18

Nichole Midgett

333 W. Main St., Springfield, KY 40069

859-336-7655

nichole.midgett@wcplky.org

Scholar: Teresa King

Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris


Louisville Free Public Library – Middletown Branch

9/17/18 – 10/22/18

Erin Nevitt

200 N. Juneau Dr., Louisville, KY 40243

502-245-7332

erin.nevitt@lfpl.org

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Mary Hamilton


Mount Sterling Elementary School

9/20/18 – 10/25/18

Wendy Rogers

6601 Indian Mound Dr., Mount Sterling, KY 40353

859-497-8730

wendy.rogers@montgomery.kyschools.us

Scholar: Alana Scott

Storyteller: Mary Hamilton


Stanton Elementary School

10/8/18 – 11/16/18

Crystal Meadows

651 Breckinridge St., Stanton KY 40380

606-663-3309

crystal.meadows@powell.kyschools.us

Scholar: Stephen Bowling

Storyteller: Gwenda Johnson