Telling Kentucky's Story

Prime Time Family Reading Program

Prime Time, designed for children six to ten and their families, promotes literacy for all Kentuckians.

Discussion leader Kimberly Curry talks with participants at Louisville Free Public Library - Okolona Branch.

Children under the age of six are cared for and do age appropriate activities in a different part of the library while older children read and discuss stories.

By this time next year, scores of young Kentuckians will be reading better and enjoying it more. That's because Kentucky Humanities, in cooperation with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives, is bringing an award-winning family literacy program to ten Kentucky libraries and schools.

Prime Time Family Reading Time is supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and grants from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives and by contributions from donors like you. Additionally, we have funding for programs in the Daviess County and Owensboro city schools thanks to a grant from the Marilyn & William Young Foundation and the Hager Educational Foundation.

The application deadline for public libraries to apply to host a Prime Time Family Reading Time Program between January 2019 and September 2019 is September 30, 2018. The deadline for Daviess County and Owensboro City schools to apply to host Prime Time in 2019 is October 31, 2018. Click here for application form.

For more information, please contact Kathleen Pool at Kentucky Humanities at (859) 257-5932. E-mail: kathleen.pool@uky.edu

Louisiana Endowment for Humanities Prime Time web site

Click here to download the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure.

For Spanish version of the Prime Time Family Reading Time brochure, click here.

Para la versiónen español delfolleto Prime Time Family Reading Time,haga clicaquí.

Click here to download the 'Finding the Humanities in Children's Literature' PDF


 

Prime Time Family Reading Time Schedule

 



Families discover the story together at Prime Time.

Click here to go to photo gallery for more pictures of Prime Time programs.

 

Nelson County Public Library – New Haven Branch

08/7/18 – 9/11/18

Catherine Williams

318 Center St., New Haven, KY 40051

859-549-6735

cwilliams@ncplky.org

Scholar: Katrina Eicher

Storyteller: Kathy Milby

George Coon Public Library

08/14/18 – 9/18/18

Ashley Jones

114 S. Harrison St., Princeton

PO Box 230, Princeton, KY 42445

270-365-2884

ajones@gcplibrary.org

Scholar: Stacey Menser

Storyteller: Nicole Adams

Campbell County Public Library – Northern Kentucky Scholar House

08/21/18 – 9/25/18

Carol Freytag

901 E. Sixth St., Newport, KY 41071

Northern KY Scholar House – 402 W. 6th St., Newport

859-572-5035 ext. 35

cfreytag@cc-pl.org

Scholar: Professor Matt Birkenhauer

Storyteller: Donna Ammerman

Washington County Public Library

08/21/18 – 09/25/18

Nichole Midgett

333 W. Main St., Springfield, KY 40069

859-336-7655

nichole.midgett@wcplky.org

Scholar: Teresa King

Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris

Waynesburg Elementary School

9/04/18 – 10/16/18

Karen Hignite

345 Ky HWY 328 W., Waynesburg, KY 40489

606-365-5815

karen.hignite@lincoln.kyschools.us

Scholar: Donna Eastham

Storyteller: Yolantha Pace

Maupin Elementary School

09/10/18 – 10/22/18

John Custis

1312 Catalpa St., Louisville, KY 40211

502-313-4500

john.custis@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Jay Stotman

Storyteller: Virginia Johnson

Garth Elementary School

9/11/18 – 10/16/18

Lisa Payne

501 S. Hamilton St., Georgetown, KY 40324

859-200-8166

lisa.payne@scott.kyschools.us

Scholar: Becky Nelson

Storyteller: Mary Lou White

Louisville Free Public Library – Middletown Branch

9/17/18 – 10/22/18

Erin Nevitt

200 N. Juneau Dr., Louisville, KY 40243

502-245-7332

erin.nevitt@lfpl.org

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Mary Hamilton

Mount Sterling Elementary School

9/20/18 – 10/25/18

Wendy Rogers

6601 Indian Mound Dr., Mount Sterling, KY 40353

859-497-8730

wendy.rogers@montgomery.kyschools.us

Scholar: Alana Scott

Storyteller: Mary Hamilton

Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School

09/25/18 – 10/30/18

Angela Boone

1351 Payne St., Louisville, KY 40206

502-485-8215

angela.boone-pillow@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Susan Ellis


 

 

Crab Orchard Elementary School

09/18/18 – 10/30/18

Gail Owens

137 Lancaster St., Crab Orchard, KY 40419

606-355-2331

gail.owens@lincoln.kyschools.us

Scholar: Mary Taylor Huntsman

Storyteller: Lauri Eiselt

James E. Farmer Elementary School

09/25/18 – 10/30/18

Theresa Mayer

6405 Gellhaus Ln., Louisville, KY 40299

502-485-8625

theresa.mayer@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Mark Condon

Storyteller: Jean Anne Clyde

Hite Elementary School

10/03/18 – 11/14/18

Elvira Paguada

12408 Old Shelbyville Rd., Louisville, KY 40243

502-313-4473

elvira.paguada@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Jean Anne Clyde

Storyteller: Andrea Becker

Stanton Elementary School

10/8/18 – 11/16/18

Crystal Meadows/Jessica Hall

651 Breckinridge St., Stanton KY 40380

606-663-3309

crystal.meadows@powell.kyschools.us

Scholar: Stephen Bowling

Storyteller: Gwenda Johnson

Reidland Elementary & Intermediate School

10/15/18 – 11/19/18

Genevieve Postlethwait

McCracken County Public Schools

5347 Benton Rd., Paducah, KY 42003

270-293-8279

genevieve.postlethwait@mccracken.kyschools.us

Scholar: Terri Grief

Storyteller: Christina Rodriguez

Indian Trail Elementary School

11/13/18 - 12/18-18

3709 E. Indian Trail, Louisville, KY 40213

502-594-0128

kimberly.curry2@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Kimberly Curry

Storyteller: Cynthia Changaris

Frayser Elementary School

10/23, 10/30, 11/13/, 11/27, 12/4, 12/13

Kim Bakewell

1230 Larchmont Ave., Louisville, KY 40215

502-313-4461

kimberly.bakewell@jefferson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Bonnie Lash Freeman

Storyteller: Thomas Freese

Henderson County Schools PD Center

10/16, 10/23, 10/30, 11/5, 11/12, 11/19

Jo Swanson and Stephanie Smith

1805 Second St., Henderson, KY 42420

270-831-5000

Jo.swanson@henderson.kyschools.us

Scholar: Megan Mortis

Storyteller: Andrew Casey